Want to know who has blocked you on Facebook? Survey scammers take advantage

Graham Cluley
@gcluley

Many Facebook users would love to know who in their social circle has blocked them or removed them from their friend list. For probably good reasons, Facebook doesn’t have a way of telling you who has decided they don’t want to share information with you via the social network anymore – but there are plenty of users who would love that functionality to satisfy their curiousity.

Scammers, of course, aren’t slow to take advantage of an opportunity like this – and you should be careful of giving third-party applications which make claims that they can help you tell who has defriended you access to your account.

Here’s an example of an application that is live on Facebook right now.

The application, called “Who doesn’t like me”, claims it will

regularly check your friends to see if anyone has removed you. When it detects that someone has removed or blocked you, a message will popup informing you who it was and a link to there (sic) profile…

Read more in my article on the Naked Security website.

Found this article interesting? Follow Graham Cluley on Twitter to read more of the exclusive content we post.


Graham Cluley is a veteran of the anti-virus industry having worked for a number of security companies since the early 1990s when he wrote the first ever version of Dr Solomon's Anti-Virus Toolkit for Windows. Now an independent security analyst, he regularly makes media appearances and is an international public speaker on the topic of computer security, hackers, and online privacy. Follow him on Twitter at @gcluley, or drop him an email.

What do you think? Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.