What is FouTube? Viral Facebook clickjacking video scams explored

Graham Cluley
@gcluley

Have you found updates on your Facebook page, saying that you like videos on sites like FouTube, FbVideo and YoTube, and wondered what it’s all about?

If so, you’ve fallen for a clickjacking scam – and you could be helping put more money into the pockets of the very people who tricked you into falling for their confidence trick.

Viral scams are spreading rapidly across Facebook, tricking unsuspecting users into saying they “Like” a page, which helps the links spread far and wide.

The scams use a technique called clickjacking, often called “Likejacking” when it happens on Facebook. Typically you are presented with a realistic-looking video player, but clicking anywhere on the screen with your mouse actually triggers an invisible Facebook Like of the content.

We’re continuing to see dozens of scams spreading virally across Facebook, tricking users into visiting fake video websites with names such as FouTube, FbVideo and YoTube on the pretext of seeing a sensational video.

You…

Read more in my article on the Naked Security website.

Found this article interesting? Follow Graham Cluley on Twitter to read more of the exclusive content we post.


Graham Cluley is a veteran of the anti-virus industry having worked for a number of security companies since the early 1990s when he wrote the first ever version of Dr Solomon's Anti-Virus Toolkit for Windows. Now an independent security analyst, he regularly makes media appearances and is an international public speaker on the topic of computer security, hackers, and online privacy. Follow him on Twitter at @gcluley, or drop him an email.

What do you think? Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.