A new viral scam is being spread across Facebook by a rogue application, tricking users into believing that Facebook is closing all accounts today.
Many Facebook users have found that their profiles have been updated with a message which reads:
Facebook is closing all accounts today. They can’t handle so many accounts. Most of the old accounts are not active, so they are deleting everything. If you want your account alive please confirm your activity. This is the final notice! <LINK>
They may also see a message reading:
Final Notice – Confirm your activity today!
In order to keep your account alive you must verify your activity!
Your account will be permanently disabled if you don’t take this step.
The sad thing is that there are many Facebook users who can be fooled by a cunning piece of social engineering like this, as their addiction to the world’s most popular social network outweighs their…
Read more in my article on the Naked Security website.