The Automation Labs Facebook security scare

Graham Cluley
@gcluley

A warning being sent between Facebook users is causing an almighty scare, as it raises alarm that strangers might be able to access your profile.

The warning claims that entering your Privacy Settings on Facebook, and hunting for “Automation Labs” under Block Users, will display approximately 20 people you don’t know.

A typical version of the warning reads as follows:

All FB friends. This is important. Do this asap! Go to settings. Click on privacy settings. Click on block users. in the name box enter ‘automation labs’. A list of approx 20 people you dont even know will come up. Block each one individually. These people have access to your facebook account/profile and spy on what You do!

And it’s true, you will see about 20 names – however, it doesn’t mean that they have any kind of special access to your Facebook profile and your security has not been breached as I explain in the following…

Read more in my article on the Naked Security website.

Found this article interesting? Follow Graham Cluley on Twitter to read more of the exclusive content we post.


Graham Cluley is a veteran of the anti-virus industry having worked for a number of security companies since the early 1990s when he wrote the first ever version of Dr Solomon's Anti-Virus Toolkit for Windows. Now an independent security analyst, he regularly makes media appearances and is an international public speaker on the topic of computer security, hackers, and online privacy. Follow him on Twitter at @gcluley, or drop him an email.